New member and some pics of JD 3005

/ New member and some pics of JD 3005 #1  

mcfly682

Tractor
John Deere 3005
Hello all. My name is Chris and ive lurked here for quite a while. The excellent debates and scads of information here helped me to decide on my new John Deere 3005 tractor. Well, a 790 in sheeps clothing. Ive enjoyed looking at all the various posts and topics you have here and now that i have a tractor, i feel almost worthy to speak up, so i became a member.

Im fairly new to tractors. Been around them my whole life, but never driven one. Ive driven just about everyfrigginthing else though from skid loaders to dump trucks to giant 4 wheel drive/steering forklifts. My wife and i purchased 50 acres of some of the most beautiful West Virginia country you might ever see a little over a year ago and put our house right in the middle of it. We have a 1200' STEEEEEP uphill gravel driveway which was the main focal point for my tractor needs. Maintaining 1200' of gravel driveway with nothing more than a shovel and rake is the pits. Ive already got a ho, but i cant get her to dig worth a darn, so it was time to get a tractor.

John Deere 3005 is what i decided upon and from the first 3 days of abuse ive thrown at it, seems a good choice was made. For attachments i went with an Agrevere 500 5' rotary mower, pig pole of unknown brand and a United 560HD box blade. Im very inexperienced with all of these implements and would welcome any advice for their usage. The brush hog is a **** scary piece of equipment. I can hear it growling to get out of its steel prison so it can chomp me up into blender sized pieces. The box blade on the other hand is one of the best **** working pieces of equipment ive had the pleasure to use. That thing works like a charm. It backhanded my driveway, gave it **** for ever getting out of control then proceded to set things right again with my road. Wonderful thing it is.