m5640, m5040, mx5100, l4400, suggestions??

/ m5640, m5040, mx5100, l4400, suggestions?? #1  

GuideUncle

Tractor
JD 5203 MFWD 553 FEL
I've been shopping for a 45-50 horse 4wd utility tractor for a few months. I'm new to tractors and Kubota, so I could use some help. I'll be using it in the woods a lot, planning to buy a 3ph winch as well. Also I will do some loader work, but that is secondary. I really like the m5040, but it is expensive, and larger and heavier than the other machines I've looked at, which translates into more impact to my woods.

The mx5100 and l4400 are more the size I am looking for and fit my budget better, but I'm worried about 3ph weight capacity. If I put a winch on the back and then start pulling big logs I'm worried about ripping the top link off or doing some other damage. The 3ph on these machines looks to me very delicate compared to the m5040.

To add more confusion to the process my dealer told me today that he expects to get a couple m5640s in this summer. He said that the 5640 is very similar to the m4800, with a beefier 3ph than the mx5100.

In addition there is a nice m5700 that goes on the auction block in a week... It seems to be exactly what I'm looking for, but I wasn't planning to buy something so soon and don't want to rush into the first "good deal" that I come across.

So I would appreciate any thoughts and comments. Am I silly for worrying about the 3ph capacity on the 5100 and 4400? Are those machines too small for what I want to do? Are there many good condition 5700s or 6800s out there, in case I pass up this one?

/ m5640, m5040, mx5100, l4400, suggestions?? #2  
Hi and welcome to TBN.
I'm partial to the Kubota M series tractors, I like them a lot. I'm not familiar with the M5640 that you mentioned, is that a new model?