Implement help

/ Implement help #1  

PDXRyan

Here is a copy of the post I put in the comparison thread because it looked like I may get some good advice in this section too. Thanks!

Howdy! My name is Ryan and I'm taking a class at OSU about Farm Implements. So I need some advice on what kind of equipment I need. This is your chance to list your dream setup if price was not a main obstacle.

The situation posed by my teacher is that I just inherited 500 acres of usable land. All the old machinery was sold to satisfy debts so now I need to buy it all new.

So I figured I would just grow 500 acres of Wheat. I have 12 working days to prep and plant and then 12 working days to harvest.

I'm a noob at this so I have little idea what I need, so I would be very appreciative to get any feedback/ideas from y'all.

Things I need help on: Tractor size, Primary tillage implement, secondary tillage, seed planting (thinking I'd go with a grain drill), chemical applicator, then some of the harvesting equipment like the combine size and grain trucks (although I may say I'm going to go with custom hire on that aspect).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for your time!

/ Implement help #2  
Ah yes,

Rent all your tillage power as it is
seasonal in nature unless you plan on
winter wheat for natural nitrogen.

Rented equipment:

1 150-200 horspower 4 wheel drive rental with GPS and auto steer

Owned equipment.

1 12-foot wide Northwest rototiller to do tillage
in one pass fourteen inches deep which breaks the
hardpan and prepares soil without additional machinery in one pass and have
a fine seed bed with no additional tillage tools.

You will be able to plant the same day or the day after if the rock pickers are used
to clean up the rocks and improve the planting bed after the ground is fitted.

2- Shulte or Degelman wide cut rock pickers for smaller tractors you will own.

1-wide width grain drill planter- foldable with a towed behind air powered seed nurse trailer