Laid Motor Down, Now Can't Pull Starter Rope!

/ Laid Motor Down, Now Can't Pull Starter Rope! #1  

Sleepergal

Tractor
Bearcat chipper/shredder 8HP
I am a newbie divorcee, trying to figure out what the heck I'm doing. I have a Bearcat chipper/shredder with an 8 HP Briggs & Stratton motor. In order to put the belt on, I had to take off the engine bolts, and the engine fell about 18". It landed on soft ground and cosmetically looks fine, but now I can't pull the starter rope (it used to be easy and would start like a dream!). My dealer said I probably had oil filling the cylinder (makes sense), but when I pulled the sparkplug, I still couldn't pull that starter rope! It's more than stiff. It feels like it's mechanically locked. Is there something I should do after removing the sparkplug to decompress the cylinder? Is it something else? Your help is much appreciated!

/ Laid Motor Down, Now Can't Pull Starter Rope! #2  
If you pulled the plug, that removes any "normal" compression that it might have had. Did you try and pull the starter rope WHILE the plug was removed?? That would be the way to clear it. If not, I suggest removing the plug again and cranking it over with the starter rope with the plug out and see what that does. If there is still oil in the chamber, that should allow the piston to pump most of it out. Let us know.

/ Laid Motor Down, Now Can't Pull Starter Rope! #3  
Did it fall on the crankshaft by chance?

/ Laid Motor Down, Now Can't Pull Starter Rope! #4  
Take the starter rope recoil assembly off then try to pull the rope and try to trun the flywheel by hand or with wrench on the flywheel nut (leave spark lug out). If engine runs and rope doesn't something in the recoil is bound up. If engine doesn't trun you have a more serious problem.

/ Laid Motor Down, Now Can't Pull Starter Rope! #5