New to me 186d

/ New to me 186d #1  

ssg510

Silver Member
You know the story. If one tractor is good then two or three tractors must be great. At least thats what I tell my wife. Have been keeping my eye out for that nice, well maintained etc 186d for a few years now. Kept missing out on some and others not so nice. Enter rmurry and his post last Monday about good deals on C.L. in North Carolina. I look and there it is calling my name. I grab the phone, go into the farthest room so the wife does not hear my conversation, and call the man about his treasure. "Yes I still have it, but the phone has been ringing off the hookabout it." We make the deal and I drive the two and one half hours to get it. The man represents it well. 440 hours, purchased by a church new in 1983, the year I graduated high school, kept inside. Sold to a fire departmet a couple years ago they put about one hour a week on it with the Woods 60" finish mower. He buys it last saturday at the fire dept auction for a steal and is reselling. Although it is not mint, few30 year tractors are, it is as nice as any I have seen in some time. Paint in great condition, old wax that was missed when they must have waxed it. no dents, evertying in great working order. Only thing missing was the original dip stick. I load it up but the trailer was loader heavy in the back because of the mower. Drove home at 50 mph up Int 77 and got home at eleven at night. Yes its just another tractor to some but as you all know these little yanmars are quality equipment. What you get for your money is, in my opinion a steal. Im going to clean her up this weekend, as my wife says, just rub on it all day. Hope you enjoy the story. I allways love hearing about someone going after and buying an old tractor. Photos to come.

/ New to me 186d
Just a couple of photos. Can anyone tell me the gray market or John Deere tractor that is close to the 186. thanks

Attachments

• 032.jpg
    032.jpg
    717.8 KB · Views: 1,920
  • 037.jpg