JD 2130 Transmission

/ JD 2130 Transmission #1  

squera1

Tractor
John Deere 2130
G'day all from Australia
this is my first time on any forum, so bear with me while I learn the ropes!
I'm posting on behalf of a farmer friend who has a John Deere 2130 which he bought 2nd hand.
it has an occasional transmission problem, particularly when loaded;
driving along on hand throttle, revs don't change one bit but the power steering gets heavy and the tractor gets slower and slower until it stops completely (with the motor still revving).
I think I could hear a pump cavitating when it happened to me, but I'm not sure... If you turn off engine and wait about 5 minutes, tractor runs normally again - maybe for 10 minutes, maybe for 2-3 days.
the bit that really confuses me is that it has a manual transmission and manual clutch which seem to work exactly as expected; there's no fluid transmission in the drive line that I'm aware of, but all the problems seem to be a lack of transmission fluid!
the hydraulic oil level checks OK, and it has had a new hydraulic oil filter.
can anyone offer a suggestion as to what problem I might be looking for and how to fix it?
sorry for being a bit "long-winded" but I'm trying to eliminate 100 questions about what,when & where the problem occurs!
Thanks in advance

/ JD 2130 Transmission #2  
G'day all from Australia
this is my first time on any forum, so bear with me while I learn the ropes!
I'm posting on behalf of a farmer friend who has a John Deere 2130 which he bought 2nd hand.
it has an occasional transmission problem, particularly when loaded;
driving along on hand throttle, revs don't change one bit but the power steering gets heavy and the tractor gets slower and slower until it stops completely (with the motor still revving).
I think I could hear a pump cavitating when it happened to me, but I'm not sure... If you turn off engine and wait about 5 minutes, tractor runs normally again - maybe for 10 minutes, maybe for 2-3 days.