Buying Advice Advice on older used tractor to purchase

/ Advice on older used tractor to purchase #1  

Tnsoon

Tractor
1987 CaseIH 255
New here and first post. Finally found our piece of paradise in Tennessee and hope to be making the move soon.

Five acres. one wooded, maybe 3 of rough grass/weeds and one of rolling/hilly "lawn". Expect to be doing considerable landscaping and gardening but don"t want or expect a "manicured" estate. Five hundred foot dirt drive up a smallish hill-washes out some now, so will need to maintain that. Not sure about snow. Most info agrees no need to plow but some freak storms, but will be retired so probably will just let it melt. Rutledge, TN if anyone has input on that.

Thinking a 25HP CUT with a MMM or 3PT finish mower and a small rotary mower for the rough stuff. Don't expect to need to cut heavy brush.

$3-5,000 budget. I'm a decent mechanic and with help for the forums, feel I can fix almost anything if I can get the parts, so thinking local dealer support not that important.

Also thinking small farm tractor with rotary cutter for the rough and dedicated lawn tractor for the lawn.

There's a 1980 Long 260 on CL with some attachments. Any parts availability or others issues?

Thanks for any input.

/ Advice on older used tractor to purchase #2  
"older used". So you want a low $$$ tractor?
There is low purchase price and there is low $$$ per hour of operation. While there are used machines out there with many hours left in the chassis. An older machine is a non stop visitor to the shop for a little thing here, something there, another thing broken/worn out here.
By the time you take the used purchase price, a set of tires and clutch and engine work. You have spent the price of new tractor with warrenty. To have an old machine with the resale value of of an old used tractor.
The choice is yours but at least take a walk through the locla dealership and find out what something new costs and figure what used is worth.