Ballast Ballast front tires on 4WD?

/ Ballast front tires on 4WD? #1  

BurningBushFarm

Silver Member
Tractor
YM2000D
Hey -- maybe someone answered this already. Can't find it searching.

Is there any plus to filling the front tires with water / antifreeze mix?

We have a YM2000D. Rear tires are weighted with water/anti-freeze mix (tubes in, original tires). Hubby was fixing slow leak in one of my front tires (no tube) and found it had no water in it -- had thought they were filled too.

It has a FEL. I use that and my bush hog (which I leave on mostly -- good counterweight for FEL work?)

So -- any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

/ Ballast front tires on 4WD? #2  
I'm no expert but I would think it could add more stress for the front steering. not sure I would chance it for what small amount the tires would add up front.

/ Ballast front tires on 4WD? #3  
All of the manuals I've seen for compact tractors explicitly prohibit liquid filling the front tires. On one of my Yanmars I have filled the front tires with liquid ballast, but I have not done so with any of the loader-equipped machines. I don't have any empirical data, but I would rather have the cushioning impact of more compliant, air-filled tires when carrying a heavy load across broken ground than the harsher and more potentially damaging impacts to the front axle components that liquid filled tires would give.

On my non-loader tractor, it gives a little bit more traction from the front end, and my use doesn't involve the kind of impacts or the loads that a loader-equipped tractor would experience, so I want all the traction I can get. With a loader, if more front weight is needed, I can just scoop up a bucket of dirt, but I feel more comfortable with squishier tires to provide more cushioning to expensive front end components.

I think the heaviest implement one has is the wisest for safe and effective loader work.

/ Ballast front tires on 4WD? #4