concerning shredder blades-Any metallurgists out there?Maybe a welder can answer this

/ concerning shredder blades-Any metallurgists out there?Maybe a welder can answer this #1  

Kyle_in_Tex

Super Star Member
Tractor
JD 4310,JD5420
I was told by a friend that some folks would weld a piece of tool steel to the front edge of their shredder blades for longer life.

I'm a machinist by trade, but not a "weld and fix it" repair type machinist.

Obviously I would be worried about it breaking off and go slinging. But if you properly prepped with weld bevels both the blade and the tool steel, then pre-heated, welded then post heated in an oven, How much do you think the quality of better steel would work?

The trick would be to keep the dis similar tool steel from cracking. Also, if you didn't quick cool it after welding to really harden it, it would stay relatively soft but still much tougher than the original blade. Maybe I need to re-think this and use a different tough metal like 17-4 Stainless or something else.

Comments?

/ concerning shredder blades-Any metallurgists out there?Maybe a welder can answer this #2  
While I'm a big fan of modifying things to make them better, I've also learned over the years that it rarely works out like I had planned. Considering the cost of buying new blades to what you might gain by modifying them and the time and money it will take to accomplish this. Then comparing how well stock blades work compared to the modified ones and if the modified ones will even cut better or last longer, along with balancing them, makes it tough to see the advantage.

Eddie

/ concerning shredder blades-Any metallurgists out there?Maybe a welder can answer this #3  
Hey Kyle,

I would be concerned that the hard (brittle) tool steel hitting rocks and other hidden hazards in the grass would fracture the steel. I have often wondered about welding hardface or something similar on the leading edges of shredder blades but I haven't tried it yet.

Tim