Oil & Fuel Bleeding Fuel Line...

/ Bleeding Fuel Line... #1  

choreboy

Tractor
TC40D
After changing oil and filter on Saturday, I was going to change the fuel filter element until I realized there was a bit more to it than I had originally thought.

I'm new to diesel ownership and maintenance and although it doesn't appear to be too tough, I thought I'd post and ask if there are any tips or traps to consider before I go for it...
The manual's pretty clear, but I can hear the voice of experience even more clearly /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Also, Jinman or someone, what is the purpose of the infamous 'jiggle pin' /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif on the thermostat on these TC tractors?

Thanks everyone for all your posts and replies, I'm learning enought to be dangerous.....Did Cotton get his new TC 40DA yet?

Guess what, back to work.....!!

/ Bleeding Fuel Line... #2  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( Also, Jinman or someone, what is the purpose of the infamous 'jiggle pin' on the thermostat on these TC tractors?
)</font>

The jiggle pin is to bleed air through the thermostat when the tractor is cold and the thermostat is cold. It keeps air from becoming trapped inside the engine. If you drain your radiator and cooling system and refill with new antifreeze, the jiggle pin will allow the air to escape. You might have to wait a few minutes for all the air to get out of the engine and put in more coolant, but at least you won't have an air pocket which will cause your engine to overheat.

Thermostats need hot water to operate, they don't work well on just hot air. /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

Also, for changing your fuel filter...
Make sure when you replace your filter, you prefill the bowl with diesel. Even if you overfill it and some spills out, what you want is to have as little air in the system as possible. I think if you are reasonably careful, you will not have a problem.