Weight distribution

/ Weight distribution #1  

JCA

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota B7510
When a typical compact tractor is sitting on a flat surface with an FEL on the front, rear tires loaded, how is the weight distributed? How much is on the front tires, how much is on the rear tires?

Thanks,
Jim

/ Weight distribution #2  
Now you asked a question with so many variyables that no one could answer. but lets wait and see.

/ Weight distribution #3  
Seems like a reasonable question to me, and I'm an engineer (formerly automotive, now aerospace). Note that he said "typical". He's not looking for exact weights to the pound, just a rough percentage front/rear. I have read that a bare compact tractor is typically 33% front / 67% rear.

After having my tractor for 6 months and reading these forums for about a year now I've concluded that these tractors are not well designed for the uses that they're put to.

With very heavy duty rear axles and tires, and relatively light front axles and tires, they're obviously designed for 3-point draft applications with ground engaging implements. But my impression is that most are purchased with a FEL and that is the most commonly employed implement. Even if the FEL isn't used most often, it is usually left attached. In my case (NH TC33D with 7308 FEL) the FEL adds 800 Lb to the front end of a 2500 Lb tractor, and I'm sure it biases the weight distribution significantly forward. BTW, I have 600 Lb liquid ballast in the rears but it still isn't enough to keep the back end down without carrying the rotary cutter, which severely limits maneuverability in all my trees.

/ Weight distribution #4