Lift arms

/ Lift arms #1  

stray

Platinum Member
Tractor
Power-trac 422 2003 model and 428 January 2015 model
I lifted about 2 tons of moss out of my ponds last night. at the end of the session i kept hearing a swaking sound. This morning as i was greasing the center toggle and i saw grease coming out of a farily long crack in the center. Here the proble lay. I hooked up the buzz box and welded the centers back. I have heard some of you all have had this trouble. if mine gets any worse I'll be redesigning and re fabricating it.

/ Lift arms #2  
I ended up sending the center pivot pin back to PowerTrac and they beefed it up and I have not had a problem since.
Mine cracked when using the mini hoe in a major project.
PJ

/ Lift arms #3  
Could we see some pics of exactly where the crack was? Having just bought a mini-hoe, I'm concerned about where/how it is stressing the lift arms...

I'm just learning how to use it, and wondering what is the least stressful way to get the job done... and what areas to monitor for signs of stress.

/ Lift arms #4  
Kent,
A little background. I noticed when using the mini hoe that the pivot center pin was starting to leak grease on one end (not the middle). I kept using the mini hoe on a major project but called a welder to weld the crack on the end. This helped for some time but again after using the mini hoe for a number of hours that this time I was gettiing grease out of both ends of the center pivot pin.
As I was unable to get the pin out, I sent the entire lift arm assembly to Tazewell and they repaired with a heavier center pin and so far I have not had any problems.
PJ

/ Lift arms #5  
Shows broken center pivot pin, both sides.
PJ

Attachments

• 714722-MVC-350F.JPG
    714722-MVC-350F.JPG
    66.7 KB · Views: 245
   / Lift arms #6  
Close up of one crack.
PJ

Attachments

• 714724-MVC-352F.JPG
    714724-MVC-352F.JPG
    52.4 KB · Views: 212
   / Lift arms #7  
Final shot of other side.
PJ

Attachments