sickle bar problems

/ sickle bar problems #1  

jimmysisson

Veteran Member
Tractor
1993 NH 2120 (the best), 1974 MF 135 (sold, but solid), 1947 Farmall A (bought, sold, bought back, sold again), 1956 MH50 lbt (sold, in 1980, darn it)
I'm trying this thread here hoping for some insight. I've had some experience, mostly bad, over the years with sickle bar mowers. Last weekend was the most recent, with an almost-new Kuhn 6' basic unit. What can be done to prevent the just-cut grass from clogging the guards and pushing to-be-cut grass away from the sections? Go faster? Slower? Higher or lower pto speed? If all the world had purely rectangular fields to mow, I'd be ok, but when you have to overlap or stray onto an already-cut area the thing clogs immediately. Going back over the area makes it worse.
Any ideas?
Thanks, Jim

/ sickle bar problems #2  
One of the easiest ways to avoid this was the way my grangfather taught me, when you get the end of the row raise the bar enough to not get in the cut grass and then make a 270 degree turn and come back into the row traveling 90 degrees from where you left off. That being said i have never found away to eleminate all of the balling up. sometimes you just have to get off and clean the bar off. Rich

/ sickle bar problems #3  
jimmysisson said:
I'm trying this thread here hoping for some insight. I've had some experience, mostly bad, over the years with sickle bar mowers. Last weekend was the most recent, with an almost-new Kuhn 6' basic unit. What can be done to prevent the just-cut grass from clogging the guards and pushing to-be-cut grass away from the sections? Go faster? Slower? Higher or lower pto speed? If all the world had purely rectangular fields to mow, I'd be ok, but when you have to overlap or stray onto an already-cut area the thing clogs immediately. Going back over the area makes it worse.
Any ideas?
Thanks, Jim