Painting Green wood

/ Painting Green wood #1  

patrick_g

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota Grand L-4610HSTC
Anyone have experience successfully painting or staining wood that isn't cured? A friend and I are each going to build a pole barn and our lumber source is logging timber, and having it milled. We have no access to a kiln and won't wait for it to cure.

We are building his first and the siding is fresh milled 1x6 white oak installed vertically and the "seams" will get battens installed over them. I have no experience painting green wood and wondered what would work best and last the longest. Whatever works, semi-transparent or opaque stain or paint or xxx. I have an airless spray rig but we can roll it if that has an advantage.

TIA for advice,

Pat

/ Painting Green wood #2  
patrick_g said:
Anyone have experience successfully painting or staining wood that isn't cured? A friend and I are each going to build a pole barn and our lumber source is logging timber, and having it milled. We have no access to a kiln and won't wait for it to cure.

We are building his first and the siding is fresh milled 1x6 white oak installed vertically and the "seams" will get battens installed over them. I have no experience painting green wood and wondered what would work best and last the longest. Whatever works, semi-transparent or opaque stain or paint or xxx. I have an airless spray rig but we can roll it if that has an advantage.

TIA for advice,

Pat

It simply will not stick -- the moisture in the wood will cause the paint to flake and peel -- even solid-colored oil-based stains won't stick as the moisture comes out....

But, if you'll let it "air-dry" on the side of your barn, then next year you can successfully prime it and paint it. Don't worry about oak being damaged in one year -- it may discolor a bit, getting dark in spots, but the paint will later hide that.