Stump removal....the fire way

/ Stump removal....the fire way #1  

TNhobbyfarmer

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L3430 Polaris Ranger 500
I have a large stump that I want to get rid of. Since I don't have a BH for my tractor (notice how I worked my tractor into this thread so as to qualify this as a tractor project), I suppose I will just have to try to burn it. Since I have never done this before, I thought I'd ask for opinions. My idea is to drill some holes in the stump, fill with diesel and ignite. Sounds simple enough. Any thoughts? Cautions, criticisms, etc. will be welcomed and duly noted.

/ Stump removal....the fire way #2  
A guy I work with told me to drill several holes and fill them with used engine oil. Do it for a couple of weeks so the oil can soak in. I haven't personally tried this but he said he's had success going this route. I suppose diesel would work also.
Usually I just dig around the stump and cut it a little below ground level, of course I haven't dealt with much over 6 " diameter.
Good luck!

/ Stump removal....the fire way #3  
If the stump was partially hollow it would be very easy to burn. (see photo)
I burned many stumps after Katrina knocked over a lot of our trees. I found that the best and easiest way to burn the stumps was to pile a lot of wood on top of them and burn the wood. I used pecan wood because I had so much of it and pecan burns very hot and very well. Tallow, hackberry, willow, etc, do not burn very well. Oak, pecan, hickory and others burn great. Burn enough big branches on top of the stump and the hot coals will keep it burning for days. I have had stumps slowly burning underground for 2 weeks until all large roots were gone and all I had to do was throw a little dirt in the hole. Do not stir the ashes until you are ready to put it out because the ashes insulate the slowly burning stump and keep it hot. No expensive diesel or gas is needed.;)

Attachments

• Image02.jpg
    Image02.jpg
    51.8 KB · Views: 9,430