Steps from a porch

/ Steps from a porch #1  

RayCo

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota BX24, Case 580 Super L
Hi group. I'm putting a walkway in out front of my house, and I'm also going to need to put in a couple of steps. There will be a total of two steps in between my porch and my walkway. They will be 8' wide 2x12's supported by three stair stringers. As far as supporting these steps at the bottom, do I need to pour concrete footers? Can I just run my walkway pavers up underneath and have the steps rest freely on them? Can I use wooded posts 10-12" in the ground without concrete footers?

Thanks for any advice.

/ Steps from a porch #2  
RayCo

I do not do construction for a living so just speak from some personal experience. In other words Eddie Walker's opinion is worth a lot more than mine.:D

I would pour a footer for the steps just to minimize the problems with frost heaving.

If you put wood, even pressure treated wood, in contact with dirt it will not last. Pressure treated wood may last for 5 or 6 years but that is all. At least that is what I run into out here in WA. Dig a hole below the frost line and put in a cement pier. You will never have to mess with it again.

/ Steps from a porch #3  
Ray

I used a railway tie (kresote), it's been there ten years and still in good shape, was alot less work than putting in posts.

/ Steps from a porch #4  
Up here we set right down onto concrete sidewalks with no problem. The stairs are going to move a little bit anyway so it isn't a very big deal if the ground moves a small bit up and down. You can use wood also but dig the post down 3 feet (and concrete them in) if you plan on using them as a support for the stair and the post for your hand rail.

The biggest thing with pressure treated stairs is that you need to make sure they are attached well to the house/deck. We go to a lot of jobs where they were built wrong and have been scabbed back together numerous times to keep them attached.

/ Steps from a porch #5