fence post spacing

/ fence post spacing #1  

TrueCountry

I am pretty new to TBN and I have a Mahindra 4110 with a FEL. I put that in there so I will have said something about a tractor. My question is I own 25 acres in Louisiana and want to put up a fence. I am going to fence in about 5 acres for horses and about 15 acres for cattle. I dont know how far apart to space the posts. I want to use T-posts and field fence (unless anyone has a better idea). I need to know how far to space the T-posts. Also when you put up a fence you have to put a heavy posts every so often and I dont know how far to put them. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. If there is anything yall ned to know that i have left out please ask. I want this fence done as soon as possible.

One more question, do you put a fence up in the winter or summer (remeber Louisiana dont have cold winters).

Thanks,
Beaux

/ fence post spacing #2  
Personally, I wouldn't use t-posts & typical square field fence for horses. If you do, use the smaller size grid so they won't get their hooves caught in the openings. Also, they could get some pretty nasty gashes from the tops of the t-posts. I've seen people use field fence and a strand of electric at the top to keep them away from the fence. Lots of people are using vinyl along with an electric strand, but I prefer wooden posts and rough sawn boards myself.

/ fence post spacing #3