ELECTRICAN GURUS:

/ ELECTRICAN GURUS: #1  

machmeter62

Platinum Member
I have a question for you gentlemen? Our home has a 400 AMP service panel. This spring, I want to run an electrical line for a future small care-takers home... (two bdrm), that will be about 250-300 feet from our existing home. The line will come from the main house service panel.

Can I go with a direct burial wire, or is that a local code decision, and what type of wire and size in aluminum or copper? The prices have seemed to have fallen with copper....would that be the best, and somewhat economical route; or go with a larger aluminum line to carry a 100 AMP service panel there?

If I go with copper wire and conduit, what size conduit would be suitable? Will an aluminum wire size conduit have to be larger too, because of its ampacity? The property is located in Northern Calif.

Thanx in advance for your help and suggestions.
LEE

/ ELECTRICAN GURUS: #3  
I'm not an electrician but I play one on my farm.

First off, codes are all local, your best bet is to talk to the local inspector.

That said, there are two things you have to worry about. One is the ability of the wire to carry current without overheating. The other factor is losses due to resistance in the wire. Thinner wires can carry less current, and they have more resistance for the same length, than thicker wires.

At that length, resistance is going to determine your wire gauge rather than current carrying capacity. A 1/0 wire will carry 100 Amps, but it will have a drop of 8%, so your voltage will be 111 volt instead of 120.