Digging a big hole

/ Digging a big hole #1  

Number21

Ok, I'll just admit it, I've never used a tractor before. But I need to dig a BIG hole, roughly 12x12 and 10 feet deep. I'd prefer not to use a shovel, so I'm thinking about renting a backhoe. Is it hard for someone who's never used one to dig a good hole in a short amount of time? Would I even be able to dig a hole that deep with one of the really small models?

/ Digging a big hole #2  
Welcome Number21. Backhoes take very little time to learn to use, I learned to use mine in minutes,but you learn tricks that make them more usefull as you get more experience. Being 10' deep and 12' square I think I would be very cautious about doing it myself if I've never used one. Knowing how close you could get to the edge without the hole caving in and trapping you and a machine is something I would leave to a proffesional. Crush syndrome and suffucation can happen in holes as shallow as 4'. Sorry but safety beats expediency on this one. I have a small backhoe (only digs 6' deep) but if it were shallow on one side I'd do it with mine. :DI love to swim :D

/ Digging a big hole #3  
12x12x10 will be a job for an excavator and not a tractor w/hoe attachment. The tractor w/hoe isn't going to have enough reach to do the task you are preparing to do. If you are looking to get a good square hole with good vertical sidewalls, its not really a job for a novice.

Sincerely, Dirt

/ Digging a big hole #4  
I also think the 10' depth puts this into the realm of an excavator/trackhoe...

/ Digging a big hole #5  
I am kind of with the others on hiring it out. Does it have to be perfect? Can you dig a ramp in to drive on to dig out the hole? Then after you have dug your hole use the FEL and BB to push the dirt back over your drive out ramp?