Solar Pre Heater for a Hot Water Heater

/ Solar Pre Heater for a Hot Water Heater #1  

Tim Stuart

Silver Member
Tractor
Mitsubishi bd2h dozer, Gradall G3WD, New Holland TC35a, Chevy Dump Truck
Ok folks I am new to the solar world so be easy on me. I was thinking about adding a solar Pre- water heater system to my 40 gallon electric hot water heater. I was thinking this may save me a little money each month on my electric bill. I was also thinking this would be something I could build myself. I am think I can build a square box 10'X10'X8" out of treated wood painted black and mount it outside my roof above my hot water heater. Than insulated inside the box with foam board inside. Than run copper pipe or cpvc pipe back and forth inside the box to absorb the sun's heat. Than cover the box with a piece of glass. My thoughts are that if my ground water average temp of 72 degrees going into the Hot water pre-heater it may come out of the pre-heater at about 92 degrees plus ( just a guess) That would raise the temp of the water going into my 40 gallon electric hot water by 20 plus degrees there for not working my hot water heater as hard to get to the 120 degree setting it's on. Do any of you have a system like this? What kind of return could I expect on my investment. Like I said, I am new to the solar world so any information or guidance you can give me would be appreciated

ProgressivTube_Solar20Water20Heater.jpg

/ Solar Pre Heater for a Hot Water Heater #2