Where to get large diameter PVC pipe or tubing

/ Where to get large diameter PVC pipe or tubing #1  

Mosey

Veteran Member
Tractor
2000 New Holland TC29D with 7308 FEL, and top & tilt. 1950 John Deere B. 1940 Farmall A.
I have this crazy idea to try to make a water slide for the kids. I won’t need a ladder or anything, since I have a 15 to 20 degree hill available right in the back yard (they're only 6 years old, so they don't need to go too fast). My plan is to put an inflatable pool at the end for them to splash into and use a small pump to pump the water from the pool to the top of the slide. The hard part, and probably expensive part, is figuring out what to make the slide out of. The only idea I have so far is to use some kind of large diameter pipe or tubing, at least 18 inches in diameter and smooth on the inside, and cutting it in half to get a U shaped slide.

How big do they make PVC pipe? Any other ideas for what to make the slide out of?

/ Where to get large diameter PVC pipe or tubing #2  
Since the lil munchers are so young, why not a Fisher-Price plactic sliding board or a plastic one from a swing set at Toys R' Us. De-burring and rounding the edges of the PVC might be a pain in the behind, and if you miss a spot could be a pain in the behind for the lil ones too.

/ Where to get large diameter PVC pipe or tubing #3  
Danny, you can get PVC culvert pipe pretty big but make sure you get the double wall stuff. That corrugated single wall could make for a painful ride down /w3tcompact/icons/wink.gif

I always see a lot of the stuff at Carter Lumber in our area. Also try a plumbing supply house. Ours didn't carry it but directed me to a place that does /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

/ Where to get large diameter PVC pipe or tubing #4