Equipment Shed - Need Grading Advice

/ Equipment Shed - Need Grading Advice #1  

David.B

Tractor
looking. any suggestions?
I'm starting a few small projects on a recently purchased property. I'm new to this kind of work, so I need some good advice.

I graded a small area (30' x 30') yesterday, to build an equipment shed. I used 2 trucks of clay/sand mix to fill a big hole in the graded area and to give me something to work with. There is a ravine nearby, just off camera to the left in the first picture. The idea was to create a gentle slope, right to left in the first picture... maybe a 1 foot drop over the 30 feet of grade. The shed will be dirt floor. Do I need a substantial pad?

How do you guys determine when to stop for a small project like this? Is there a book or internet reference for grading?I found myself going over the area again and again, seeing tiny little things that I wanted to fix each time. I spent about an hour spreading dirt, and then 2 more hours touching up with the skid steer and spreading the dirt around with my boots when the skidsteer became too unwieldy for the really fine work. Am I just ****?

The last picure is the finished? product. I may go back with a garden rake and clean it up some more.

Is a skid steer an appropriate tool to use for a small grading project? If I use a tractor, what attachments should I use? I'd like to do my own grading for a garage next spring, and I've got some roads/trails to maintain. But I'm struggling with the basics.

Attachments

• FromSkidSteer.jpg
    FromSkidSteer.jpg
    975.6 KB · Views: 246
  • FromTrees.jpg
    FromTrees.jpg
    897.1 KB · Views: 274
  • FinishingWithBoots.jpg
    FinishingWithBoots.jpg
    840.2 KB · Views: 209
   / Equipment Shed - Need Grading Advice #2  
I don't know much either.