On the right track for field -> garden?

/ On the right track for field -> garden? #1  

Boulter

Tractor
Kioti DK40SE
Hi:

I'm new to tractors and agriculture. I have part of a field that I want to cultivate for the sorts of crops that one plants and mostly forgets: squash, corn, grains; leaving the garden near the house for the daily salad type crops.

The field is wedge shaped, about 50 feet wide at the top (high spot) and 150 feet wide at the bottom. I imagine it has been at least 25 years since the field was last cultivated. The field is about 600 feet long. At a guess, the slope is an average 5 to 8% grade with localized grades of 10%. I'd like to cultivate the entire field eventually, but for now I want to do a strip along the fence line about 50 feet wide, the entire length of the field, for about an acre in total. There will be plenty of rock to pick. A book about the settlers near here on the historic Opeongo Line pioneer road is titled "Harvest of Stones."

I have what I believe is a #66 MF 3-12 plow and a two gang disc (picked up at auction 2 weeks ago) to pull behind my Kioti DK40SE which is geared in 3 ranges, 4 gears per range.

I have been pulling up a dozen or so scrub trees with the BH. I'll knock these areas roughly flat again with the FEL when I am done.

It is my understanding that the main idea is to plow in the fall, let the winter work on breaking up the clumps, and then disc and plant some cover crops next spring. I will also try to source some manure and/or compost as well to toss into the mix. I don't expect to do a serious crop until 2 or 3 years out.

I will cultivate in the long (up/down the slope) direction for minimal turning and safety. I believe it would be better for erosion control to go the other way, but doesn't look feasible to me.