/ At Home In The Woods
#5,101  
Alright obed, we need a pic of you wearing that snazzy helmet. :D

Here ya go Jay.

316234d1367700833-home-woods-img_0517.jpg

Obed

/ At Home In The Woods
#5,102  
The kitchen sink drain was leaking a tiny bit. I removed a plastic gasket and cleaned some gunk off of it. I reconnected the plastic drain pipe to the sink and snugged the nut hand tight. That seems to have fixed the leak --- for now.

IMG_0546.JPG IMG_0547.JPG

/ At Home In The Woods
#5,103  
I think your moving the torch or gun to fast esp if your useing a 3 wire speed on that machine. You need to be "weaving or stiching" the weld very slowly at that speed. I normally use about a 5-7 speed on that machine on the thickstuff i weld, maybe more like a 6, on thin stuff i am useing like a 3. I am no expert but i do have the same machine that you have. I use figure 8's when i weld and not circles or random patterns.
clemsonfor,

I was able get penetration with the speed setting on 5 for my practice welds on a flat plate. However, when I tried welding the T-joint on the 5 setting, the bead just built up on top instead of penetrating. Slowing down to 3 enabled me to get penetration.

Based on a passing remark in my welding book, I have a theory as to why my welds aren't penetrating the thicker metal on the faster wire speeds. According to my welding book, increasing the wire speed is supposed to increase the current and improve the penetration. On the thicker metal, I believe I am maxxing out the welder's current output. Thus, increasing the wire speed on the thicker metal isn't resulting in higher current like it is supposed to because the current output has already maxxed out. Thus higher speeds just mean the wire comes out faster than the available current can heat up the plate.

I'll try figure 8's and see how that goes. I've just been zig-zagging back and forth across the seam without any set pattern.

Obed

/ At Home In The Woods #5,106