An Old Goat Ranch in Texas

/ An Old Goat Ranch in Texas #1  

terry.dinerman

Gold Member
"The Old Goat Ranch" Grimes County, Texas
Tractor
1990 - JD 870
Hello Neighbors-

I have been lurking for a while and what has impressed me the most about this forum is the good humor of the members and the good sense evident in the advice.

At the urging of Eddie Walker, I am going to try my hand at a thread, and tho I am a Greenhorn dont be gentle, as I wont get better if you coddle me.

Here goes.

A little background...

I am a Remote Site Paramedic working at an iron mining project in Liberia. I have worked all over but this is my first posting to Africa...sort of a vacation-station after 3 straight years in Iraq and even tho I am so far back in the bush you have to bring a bucket of sunshine, at least I am not getting shot at.

For now, anyway.

When I am home, my family is in the process of building a small ranch in Grimes County, Texas, starting from an unimproved piece of ground out in the county. No city problems for me, thank you very much.

Country problems can generally be cured with tools, wits, hard work, a few friends and a gun....city problems generally cut straight to the gun....

The project began in earnest last year with the purchase of the land and we soon began working on the infrastructure.

It is in the middle of a green swath that runs thru this part of the county, mixed hard and softwood, bordered by some of the nicest pasturage in the state. A regular critter highway full of deer, pigs, coons, squirrels, coyote, bobcats and who-knows-what-all else.

Post Oak Savanna they call it.

We quickly earned the approval of the crowd at the local Cafe by putting up a fence that will hold anything from a Chihuahua to a Brahma bull. It is known locally as the "Prada Perimeter" and naturally we sure had to pay a premium to get it done right. You can play a tune on that wire.