My Learning to Farm: Newbie Renovating Pastures in MD

/ My Learning to Farm: Newbie Renovating Pastures in MD #1  

Learning to Farm

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L3750
So, as my name implies I am a little new to practical farming. I can do all the numbers on paper, but actually sitting on the tractor is fairly new to me (this year). So I have seen some posts that are similar to what questions I had when I started and thought it was good to give some insight to my learning for the other newbies to read (and the seasoned farmers to maybe get a chuckle at the overwhelmed book-learned newbie). I consider myself a pretty lucky person to have this experience.

Background:

I have 1 horse that I keep at a boarding facility that is 29 pastured acres in Maryland (this is important because this is not the route someone, in say, AZ would do). I had my old horse have impaction colic and it was from not having enough forage (he passed way last year {not from the impaction} and I have a new horse now, want to prevent it in him). So this spring I noticed we were headed into the farms normal routine of a bumper crop of buttercups, I suggested to the barn manager that I take two pastures (3 and 3.5 acres respectively) and 6 horses and do rotational grazing and pasture renovation (all add-ins such as N and seed would come out of my pocket). I would also mow all the other fields, for $10 an hour up to half off my board (anything over, I eat). Now the interesting twist is that the barn manager leases the farm from the owner that lives on the property, all the equipment is his. I drew up my plan, which involved him allowing me to work with the county Ag Extension agents and use of all the equipment (signed a wavier). He was so pleased that he maintains all the equipment, buys ALL my diesel, and provides me with a part-time mechanic/farm guy to fix stuff (the unspoken rule is I have to participate in the repair to learn, which I happily do). It's a win-win-win, in my book.