240V 3 way switching.....

/ 240V 3 way switching..... #1  

mx842

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota L3301, PowerKing 2414, John Deere 316, Gravely ZT HD 52
can you switch 240V lights so that they can be controlled in two places?

I really want to use my high bay lights in my barn. It would be nice if I could split them, two in back and two in the front and put them on 3 way switches so both sets could be turned on and off from either end of the shop.

I could wire them to run off 115V but they use too much juice that way, double what they use when wired 240V.

/ 240V 3 way switching..... #2  
I am not an electrician, so take this for what its worth.

I would wire them 120v if you want the 3 way. They wont use more "juice" if you are refering to watts when you sat "juice". It is true that they will pull double the amps, so the wires have to be sized accordingly, but even if they are 1000w bulbs, that is still under 10 amps per light on 120v. So you could run 2 of them lights on a 12ga 20a circuit.

But either way, total wattage (and what you have to pay for) wont be much difference either way. Maybe pennies a month on 240v just because it is more "efficient". But no noticable difference IMO.

If you really want them on a 240v circuit and 3-way, you will need to wire it to a relay or some other means of delivering the 240v. Because I dont thin they make 3-way switches for 240v since 240v involves 2 hots and not just the one like 120v. So you will have to wire a 120v 3-way circuit tied to a relay (same as you would wire a typical 3-way in a house, only use a relay instead of a lightbulb). And from that relay, feed your 240v to the lights.

But as I said, I think 120v would be simpler. What are the wattage of the lights??

PS: remember I said I was not an electrician, so take my advise for what its worth.

/ 240V 3 way switching..... #4  
I am an electrician, and whenever i find a 240 volt light requiring 3 way, 4 way, etc wiring i use a contactor.