Land Surveying Equipment Questions

/ Land Surveying Equipment Questions #1  

Haoleguy

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD 5325; Landini Mistral 50
I have both near and longer term need to locate, design, & map specific features on our farm fields. The most pressing is to locate underground tiling for installation this Fall on 5 acres such that it does not interfere with 33 trellis rows for grapevines next Spring. Underground irrigation pipe, electrical, water tanks, septic, etc will follow shortly after. Distances measured will range from 10 to 1000 ft. For accuracy I'm focused on buying a used total station to do the surveying so that distances, angles, and heights are more straightforward to measure. I'm a newbie to surveying equipment but I have noticed that many changes have happened since the first total station was released in the early 70s(?). The changes make it a little confusing to pick from older, used, calibrated total stations for my level of work and getting good value. Battery for better life, more onboard programs for calcs, more memory for storing projects, download adapters, laser plummet, automation drive motors, and others seem to be but a few of the changes. So I could use some guidance on what features/improvements are needed and to make sure my selection is not outdated from the start, e.g. batteries no longer available. ......Thank you, Gary

Last edited:
   / Land Surveying Equipment Questions #2  
Single station surveying equipment: for the older gear, you need a degree to run it, far from intuitive. Newer equipment is better but the good equipment is far from inexpensive. Buyer beware there is lots of used equipment for sale but it may be missing important parts.

My advice is to either:p

Hire a pro to do the initial layout marking everything with monuments, then aquire optical surveying equipment And DIY. OR

Get high quality optical equipment and a laser distance measuring device and DIY.