Little barn build in progress, couple questions

/ Little barn build in progress, couple questions #1  

deezler

Elite Member
Tractor
Cub Cadet 7305, Kioti CK3510seh TLB
Hi all,

If there's one thing I've learned from this section of the forum, it's that there are a LOT of different ways to build a shed/barn. This is my first attempt at building anything substantial. While it's been a lot of fun thus far, my body is a wreck after 3 days on the job, haha!

My shed will be:
- 23x20 feet (14x20 being the "primary" section with larger 4x6 posts)
- Posts sitting atop concrete footers, but not IN concrete. Wanted them removable if need be.
- dirt floor. Please don't try to convince me to go with concrete. Multiple reasons why I can't. Just can't. Dirt is ok with me, and my soil is almost pure sand - very well draining and mostly inert.
- As cheap as possible. Using salvaged (but quite new) 2x4s and OSB sheets. Trying to keep the total lumber expense under $1k. Doors, fasteners and other hardware may end up pushing another 3-400.

Since the depth of experience in pole-building construction is so deep on this forum, I wanted to ask a couple of things.

- How slowly can I finish this building without worrying about the un-treated lumber? Obviously I am using treated lumber for the posts, anything touching the ground, and any fascias being left exposed to the elements. But the whole interior is untreated. Will it get brittle and warpy if left exposed to the elements for long? Do I have just a couple weeks to get it covered up? A couple months? A year? (The goal is to get it all enclosed and lock-able before the snow flies)