House voltage varying up and down

/ House voltage varying up and down #1  

BeezFun

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B2710
Strange problem started today. I turned on coffee pot (1500W) and lights over kitchen sink dimmed slightly. Plugged the coffee pot into a different outlet in kitchen and turned it on, this time lights got slightly BRIGHTER. Went and got my voltmeter, voltage measures 130v without the coffee pot plugged in, drops to 115v and rises to 145v depending on what outlet I plug coffee pot into. Tried same experiment using a small space heater (1500w), same results. I haven't tried every outlet in the house, but I've tried this in 3 rooms and get the same result. Any thoughts what's going on, and where I should look next?

/ House voltage varying up and down #2  
Beezfun I am not an electrician by trade, but I am sure one will chime in soon. In the meantime if it were me I would check the voltage at the main feed coming into the house to see if the problem is outside or in the house. Please be careful in the box!

/ House voltage varying up and down #3  
Usually the problem is a bad common wire connection in the service panel.

/ House voltage varying up and down #4  
I would check to be sure you haven't lost power on one of the two incoming hot leads. It sounds to me like you have and power may be back-feeding. The utility co should dispatch a lineman if it turns out the problem is outside of your responsibility.

/ House voltage varying up and down #5  
Is the voltage at the outlets varying? Or is it the main panel that is varying?

/ House voltage varying up and down #6  
Usually the problem is a bad common wire connection in the service panel.
Yes, the neutral splice at the service entrance or pole splice is likely bad. I have
had this problem before. It was caused by the electric company failing to use
dielectric paste at the meter connection. Our overhead wires are aluminum around here,