Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
    Veteran Member
    Tractor
    B2710

Default House voltage varying up and down

Strange problem started today. I turned on coffee pot (1500W) and lights over kitchen sink dimmed slightly. Plugged the coffee pot into a different outlet in kitchen and turned it on, this time lights got slightly BRIGHTER. Went and got my voltmeter, voltage measures 130v without the coffee pot plugged in, drops to 115v and rises to 145v depending on what outlet I plug coffee pot into. Tried same experiment using a small space heater (1500w), same results. I haven't tried every outlet in the house, but I've tried this in 3 rooms and get the same result. Any thoughts what's going on, and where I should look next?
    Kubota B2710, New Holland CM274 front mower, Toro Zmaster ZTR, Ford 908 bush hog, New Idea manure spreader, Swisher trail mower

Default Re: House voltage varying up and down

Beezfun I am not an electrician by trade, but I am sure one will chime in soon. In the meantime if it were me I would check the voltage at the main feed coming into the house to see if the problem is outside or in the house. Please be careful in the box!
    2011, JD2520, 62D MMM, 200CX loader, iMatch Quick Hitch, Ballast Box, #46 Backhoe

Veteran Member

Usually the problem is a bad common wire connection in the service panel.

Tractor
    TC-40D SS New Holland

I would check to be sure you haven't lost power on one of the two incoming hot leads. It sounds to me like you have and power may be back-feeding. The utility co should dispatch a lineman if it turns out the problem is outside of your responsibility.

Tractor
    Kubota l3400

Is the voltage at the outlets varying? Or is it the main panel that is varying?
    ".........there is only one way to find out."
    "Ok, hold my beer and watch this.........."

Ford 5500 Backhoe
    Kubota L3400GST W/LA463 FEL
    2005 Dodge 3500 4x4 Diesel
    8N Rebuilt and restored
    Bushhog 306