Log skidding chains

/ Log skidding chains #1  

El Wood

Gold Member
Tractor
JD 3320
What size and length of chain do you guys use for log skidding?

In the next couple days, I'll be clearing a large area of trees. Tree size range from small to large oaks. I don't have a lot of experience doing this but thought I would head to Tractor Supple and get a couple different lengths / gauges. I was also thinking about picking up a set of tongs. And advice? Here are a couple pics of the job site. Thanks!

image-1493898274.jpg

image-3855086476.jpg

/ Log skidding chains #2  
i use either 3/8 chain or 5/16 chain for when i do firewood. i used the 3/8 chain in the past, but when i got my winch, it was all set up for 5/16. i was a little sceptical at first, but no problems with the 5/16 70 grade chain. mine are approx 8ft in length and i have slip hooks on the end. the tree diameters i winch/skid are between 8" to up to 36" diameter. i have no experience with tongs.

/ Log skidding chains #3  
I use 5/16 grade 70 chain with a 44HP tractor. I have log tongs but rarely ever use them. I have a short chain I use as a choker and more than a few longer chains. Always best to pull with the draw bar because you can flip you tractor.

/ Log skidding chains #4  
Same here, a 5/16" chain is the better choice for moderate skidding like ours, and they are easier to handle. Mine are not grade 70 but are still plenty strong for my DK35. I keep 8' and 15' on the tractor and use the 8' if possible.

The chains are kept in holders made from short lengths of vertical plastic pipe as shown in other threads.

/ Log skidding chains #5  
I also use 5/16 grade 70 chains for skidding, easier for me to manage. Skidded some good sized stuff and hadnt broke one yet. Most of what I skid is for firewood. LUTT

/ Log skidding chains #6