Subpanel vs breakers in main panel

/ Subpanel vs breakers in main panel #1  

BeezFun

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B2710
I need two 120v, 20A circuits in a storage building that's 150' from the service panel in my house. Is there any reason to not just add two 20A breakers to my service panel, as opposed to putting a 40A subpanel in the storage building? In both cases I think I have to run the same wires: two #10 for hot, one #10 for neutral, and one #10 for ground. The only thing I see a subpanel buys me is a circuit breaker out in the storage building instead of up at the house.

/ Subpanel vs breakers in main panel #2  
I'm not an inside electrician but I believe #12 is what is standard on a 20 amp circuit, as far as the sub-panel goes if you ever think you would need a little more than just the two 20 amp circuits you could up-grade, and if you live long enough you will want or need more, it's just human nature.:D

/ Subpanel vs breakers in main panel #3