Pole Barn Question - OSB or not for Roof

/ Pole Barn Question - OSB or not for Roof #1  

CentralNC

Silver Member
Tractor
New Holland TC35A
I have been studying ways to build a shop for almost 2 years now. I have priced about every option possible. I have read almost every pole barn project for the past several years. Many of you have provided guidance and suggestions off-line.

We have a lot of brick (5000) left from building our house along with shingles, so I priced a brick shop built on a concrete slab. I also priced a vinyl sided shop built on a slab. I always keep coming back to the metal pole barn option. I bought a set of plans for a 30' x 40' x 12' with a 10' x 40' open lean-to.

I have pricing on kits (everything included) and I am pricing the option of buying metal and framing materials separate. I do have the advantage of being able to buy framing materials (trusses, posts and OSB) at very good prices. I am getting several different quotes on the metal. If I can save a few $$$ now it will help offset the cost of concrete and garage doors.

I have 1 or 2 questions for the group. There are guys on TBN with a lot of experience and I would appreciate some advice.

Question #1: OSB on roof vs. reflective insulation
It will cost about $350 extra to install OSB on the roof vs. using the reflective insulation. The guys who sell the metal want to sell the insulation, but I think the OSB will add strength and keep the roof from sweating. I might have to use a strong truss, but that is OK. I am not going to put OSB on the sides, but I am leaning strongly toward putting it under the roof. Any thoughts on OSB vs. reflective insulation for the metal roof?

The local metal supplier told me the roof would sweat with OSB if I did not install the reflective insulation, but I don't believe that is possible. The roof sweats because of the difference between the air temp below the roof and the temp of the metal itself.

Question #2: House wrap