Need advice for land clearing 70+ acres of timbered land

/ Need advice for land clearing 70+ acres of timbered land #1  

Vhayne

Tractor
none
Hello all. This is my first post, and I'm just getting into this. The thing is, my wife and I purchased 150+ acres of undeveloped land for recreation and eventually to build a home on. About 70 acres of it was timbered 2 years ago, and it's a HUGE mess. It has great potential however, and will be beautiful once it's finished. The guys left behind enormous brush piles (I have pics if necessary), and of course stumps galore (cut pretty close to the ground), as well as massive amounts of logs everywhere (mostly in the "low areas" - it's quite hilly). Since it's been 2+ years since this was done, there is a ton of undergrowth now as well. Lots of pine saplings as well as incredible amounts of briars.

I've talked to a lot of people so far concerning how to deal with this and had a company come out to quote the clean up. The quote was insane, so I plan to do it myself. What I've been told so far are the classic steps:

1. Gather up the logs by hand or other means, and burn them or mulch them.
2. Burn the brush piles.
3. Use an excavator and dig up the stumps.
4. Fill in the stump holes.
5. Bush hog the growth.

Now, that all sounds fine, and if you could see it personally, it also sounds like it would take years of a lot of hard work. I'm not opposed to that, but I can't help but think there's an easier way, which is why I'm here to talk to you guys.