Pond Building????

/ Pond Building???? #1  

diggingdeep

Tractor
Super A IH
My father in-law is wanting to build about an 1.5 acre pond. He is going to buy about 50HP (Kubota or Kioti to keep on the farm) tractor with front end loader. I know that a pond cant be built efficiently with just the FEL. So I was thinking about directing him towards about a 2.5, 3 yard pan (which I would be running, could pick one up for 2-4000$), we also have a 2600 ford with disc to help with loosening the dirt up. Its in kind of a valley where he wants the pond, and it looks to me like you would pull off the topsoil and then start taking the red dirt to where the dam will be, looks fairly simple to me. I have been digging and moving dirt for about 8 years now with excavators, backhoes, skidsteers etc, I HAVE never touched a PAN before, don't see why I cant RUN it with a 50HP tractor. I also think that this would be about the CHEAPEST way to go when we get done with the pond SALE the PAN. WHAT do you guys think. Thanks for any INPUT. :confused2:

/ Pond Building???? #2  
Well here are my thoughts. Building a 1.5 acre pond in a valley is a lot more involved than dropping dirt on the low side and calling it a dam. The first thing is knowing what kind of soil you have under the top soil and if it will hold water. A dam needs really good clay and a key way cut in to lock it into the existing soil. The dam needs to be compacted in lifts as clay is added. An evaluation of what kind of water source is going to fill the pond and keep it full, drainage acres, spring, well or other means. A 50 hp tractor can do a great deal of work...if you are moving 100's or 1000's of yards it is not the proper tool though. You might want to look at the forum on Pond Boss Magazine: Welcome they are are a good group and have a great deal of pond experience. Personally I would be bringing in heavy equipment if I were doing that type of project.

MarkV

/ Pond Building???? #3