3 phase converter ok ?

/ 3 phase converter ok ? #1  

Tomtint

Elite Member
Tractor
L3700SU
I'm not particularly knowledgable about electricity. Here is what I have and looking to do. I have a 200 amp service now and I'm looking at a piece of equipment that requires 3phase. Running 3 to my home would be very ..very expensive, likely 50k +\-. One of the electricians I spoke with said a phase converter may be the answer. He said I needed the motor size and electric requirements to order the correct size converter. My question is weather there are potential drawbacks to using a converter ? ..Any electricians on TBN ?

/ 3 phase converter ok ? #2  
There are several ways to convert single phase to three phase. Add-A-Phase, Roto-phase, and inverters. It depends on what kind of equipment you are running and wether or not the amp load varies as to which one is best.

/ 3 phase converter ok ? #3  
I have been using a phase converter for over 10 years to run a large lathe and a 50 ton Ironworker, both have 5 hp motors.
I built my own Static Converter from instructions on line for $45. Rotary Converters cost a lot more.
With a Static Converter for example, a 3 hp motor will only produce 2 hp due to the conversion.
My tools don't run at 100% but they do very well for me.

/ 3 phase converter ok ? #4  
Here's a place that sells inverters that are made specifically to be phase converters.
driveswarehouse.com

/ 3 phase converter ok ? #5  
I'm not an electrician either, but had the same basic problem/concern. We installed a 35 hp rotor phase converter about 7 years ago to run our PC oven. So far it hasn't given any problems.

/ 3 phase converter ok ? #6  
If you need three phase for a smaller, single motor, a VFD is the best answer IMO.

If you have more than one machine to run, a rotary is more cost effective.