Driveway sinking

/ Driveway sinking #1  

nrc17gto

Silver Member
Tractor
Bobcat 753, Ford 555D, Kubota L2800
Hi TBN!

I admittedly did not know a lot about building a road when I started clearing and getting ready for the shop build a long time ago. So now that we actually have the house built (for about a year now) I was hoping to get it in a lot better shape for the winter. The driveway (road) is about 1800' long in total. The first section has pretty large rock on it with fines that has held up pretty well but there were some problem spots where water was running down the middle (because I was a newbie) on the second section so I created drainage on the sides and a few small trenches cutting across the driveway to divert it to those trenches where necessary. I should mention that some of this driveway is running uphill/downhill so the water can really gain some speed. I also had water ponding in front of my shop and no driveway yet running from the shop to the basement garage. So I dug out (also expanding) all of the area in front of the garage to get it graded so that it would better drain the proper direction away from the driveway. This got rid of the ponding issue. I then had 3 truck loads of 1.5" crusher run brought out. Two of these were spread on the second section to the shop, the third stockpiled. After boxblading the two spread loads that section of driveway is working pretty well. I have to do just a bit more to it but is way better than it used to be.