Build or Buy Skid Steer, wide or narrow?

/ Build or Buy Skid Steer, wide or narrow? #1  

nimblemotors

Silver Member
Tractor
Case 530 CK Sold, Ford Ranger DIY Project
Hello, been a while since I've been on here.
I've got 1/4 acre I need to clean up and level out and spread gravel.
I also have another 1/3 acre that isn't flat at all and need to move a lot of dirt around to level it.
And then I need to move 15 gallon trees around loading them onto trailers, etc.

I was looking into buying a used skidsteer, but I am putoff by the cost. $10k just isn't in the cards for this,
but I have found some that need work, either engines or hydraulics, that I can fix. Saw one today for $3500 that has hydraulic problem.

Or I am thinking I can build a machine from scratch, as I have lots of experience fabricating stuff and have
lots of car and truck parts I can utilize.

I did a search and didn't find a whole lot on building a skidsteer from scratch.

Any advice? One question I have is whether making one narrow is a big advantage? The commercial units all seem to be fairly narrow compared
to a 'tractor' FEL/Backhoe. If I use some truck parts, like the rear axle, they are pretty wide in comparison. I have no need to fix through narrow passageways
to get into a backyard, so wondering if there is other advantage to narrow design?

/ Build or Buy Skid Steer, wide or narrow? #2  
I doubt you can build a skid steer for less than buying one. Another aspect to look at the money to build one is mostly not recoupable. Assuming no major break downs you can get most of your money back on a used machine. I wouldn't want a overly wide skid steer otherwise using already exiting implements will be a pain.

/ Build or Buy Skid Steer, wide or narrow? #3