Creating shallow drainage ditch

/ Creating shallow drainage ditch #1  

blakesfav

Tractor
Kubota B7610
I'm a novice tractor user - trying to figure out how to cut a shallow drainage ditch with a box blade and FEL. Is there any way to angle the box blade so that only one corner digs in? This might get me started. I want a gently sloping drainage ditch that will grow grass and still allow me to mow it. Any tips? Thanks -

/ Creating shallow drainage ditch #2  
you should have an adjustment on your 3ph to set the angle for your boxblade. It may not be enough angle, depending on the depth that you want your ditch.

/ Creating shallow drainage ditch #3  
You can use the loader to make a notch in the dirt. Then you can smooth out and do final grade with the box blade.

The way I cut with the loader is to bring the level bucket six inches up from grade. Curl it down with a little pressure into the dirt. Go forward. It'll cut, without teeth too.

Then as it gets down a bit I'll lower the bucket as I level it out.

If you have forks for your loader you can use just one as a ripper. Then you can excavate the clods with the loader and then do final grade with the box blade.

I've found the hardest thing to do is to remove just a couple of inches while cutting with a loader. You have to be really on top of your game.

/ Creating shallow drainage ditch #4  
Using the jack screw (side adjustment) on the three point hitch, tilt the blade to one side. With it this way, go down your purposed ditch one way and back up the other side. It will go much faster if you drop the rippers down. The first few trips, you will think that you are not getting anywhere, but have patience. It will take a while, but can be done. I have made drainage ditches 4-5 feet deep doing it this way.

/ Creating shallow drainage ditch #5