Fence Posts

/ Fence Posts #1  

Twanger

Bronze Member
Tractor
4310 4wd ehydro 420 loader asof 4/2/02
I have a 12" auger on my phd. I am setting 6-8" x 8ft posts for fence and trellis. What is the best way to put post in the ground? Do I dig the 12-18" holes center pinta treated posts and tamp the dirt in around it? Do I use concrete? Should I use a post driver (which I don't have available)? If I can get almost 4ft of post in the ground will it be solid with just tamping?

/ Fence Posts #3  
Hello Twanger...
Fence posts, My favorite thing. (Ha)…
I was just talking about fence posts with my brother the other day. He and I put in a lot of hedge posts around 10 acres over 40 years ago. No steel, all hedge. Those posts are still looking great, the fence wire itself has been replaced.

If you put your corner or gate posts in 3 to 4 foot and brace them, your line posts in 2 to3foot, you should not need any cement. Just tamp them in very good.

I see you are in the KC vicinity… If you go south through the Flint Hills you will see miles of fence line… I’d bet those posts have been there for many decades with no cement. It is a little more work to tamp them in but you will end up with a tight set post. KennyV.

/ Fence Posts #4  
Go 3' minimum on your line posts and tamp them in really good. Go 4' minimum on your corner and brace posts. Every post I ever put in concrete usually rotted off after 5 years or so. Just make sure you tamp them really good all the way up.

/ Fence Posts #5  
Where I live wood posts & concrete = rotted posts in a few years. I understand in other locations it works well..... I'm in clay & cold & wet. Perhaps in dry & sandy & so on it is different.

I would dig & tamp, as others suggest.

--->Paul

/ Fence Posts #6  
I am glad the original poster asked the questions that I always wanted to ask myself.