Property Gate

/ Property Gate #1  

1bush2hog

Veteran Member
Tractor
NH TN75
I am considering building the gate as per design in the attachment. I would appreciate any and all input regarding the design and installation due to the fact I have little to no experience with metal fabrication.

The material initially planned is schedule 40 black iron pipe, with posts to be filled and anchored with concrete.

Thanks in advance for your help and comments.

Attachments

• 764713-Gate Design TBN.jpg
    764713-Gate Design TBN.jpg
    84 KB · Views: 2,677
   / Property Gate #2  
That's one heavy gate!

I believe I would look at 2" sch 40 or 3" tubing in place of the 6" stuff.

/ Property Gate
Yes, this is a heavy gate. I want something to keep people from driving into my property and also to keep them from destroying my gate. The gate will be in an isolated area, where I have had previous problems with trespassers. I believe it will take more than a red necks pick up to damage this gate - that is the intent anyway.

It will also be very difficult, even for a 4 wheeler, to go around the gate due to slope the road is on and surrounding trees.

/ Property Gate #4  
It's bigger than anything I've ever tackled, but I'm sure you have your reasons.

It reminds me of a park gate.

How will you hing it? Will you sleeve one pipe over the other? If so, you'll want to drill and tap some zirk fittings to grease it.

How will you latch it? Is it supposed to remain off the top of that post, or will it rest on it. I like the idea of having it rest on something. Relieves all the stress on your hinges.

Since it's such a heavy duty gate, you either just like oversized pipe, or you are seriously concerned about keeping people out. If you're concerned about security, than the latch and lock should be impossible to get to. Tresspassers have all sorts of clever ways to get into a place when they want. From crowbars to cutting torches to shooting off the lock.