Running Electric to Pole Barn

/ Running Electric to Pole Barn #1  

TNhobbyfarmer

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L3430 Polaris Ranger 500
I built a pole barn for storing my toys about 150' from the log cabin on my farm. I didn't originally put electricity in the barn but now have decided I need lights. I have an electrical outlet on the outside of the house. I am thinking about hooking onto that outlet and running underground cable out to the barn and installing light fixtures and outlets. I have some wiring experience but am not an expert by any stretch. Does this sound like a workable and safe idea?

/ Running Electric to Pole Barn #2  
A couple years ago I added electricity to my pole barn. I put in one outlet and a pair of overhead double lamp flood fixtures. I ran the power underground from another barn which had its own sub panel. The circuit to the pole barn is on a dedicated breaker out of the sub panel. I ran the power with 12 AWG UF direct bury cable.

I found a relatively easy way to bury the cable. I used a small tiller to break through the upper root layer and then used a 3" shovel to dig a narrow trench. It only took me about 20 minutes to dig a 30' trench.

I would recommend that you find a way to at least put your pole barn on a dedicated breaker.

/ Running Electric to Pole Barn
Would it make sense to run from the outlet on the outside of the house to a sub panel installed in the barn and then from a circuit in the sub panel to the fixtures in the barn?

/ Running Electric to Pole Barn #4  
short answer NO.