Building a new house - need advice

/ Building a new house - need advice #1  

Torrak

Tractor
Kubota BX24
Hi all,

My wife and I have decided to build a new house on the back half of our property.

While I would like to use a general contractor, she would like me to act as the GC and subcontract all the labor to save some money.

My question is, is this feasible for someone who has never built or had a house built before? If it is truly money saving, does anyone have any tips, advice, etc? I do have all summer off as I am a teacher so I am able to be onsite every day, so time is not a problem, it is more of an experience/knowledge problem.

Thanks in advance,

Joe

/ Building a new house - need advice #2  
I will be doing the same thing in the spring. I have several friends who were their own contractor and saved thousands. You just have to be organized and have all the subs lined up and not be afraid to tell them how you want things done. If you are handy you can also do a lot of the work yourself. I would recommend you go to your local library and check out a book called "Be Your Own House Contractor". The author is Carl Heldmann. Pretty basic book, but I thought it provided a lot of good information. Good luck.

/ Building a new house - need advice #3  
It depends on your pain threshold. The short answer to your question, is yes, its possible. I've done it twice, although I did more than GC, I did a significant portion of the work myself, both times. I grew up pounding nails with my father, so I had some relevant experience. However, it can be an incredibly frustrating thing to do.