Sawmill Barn

/ Sawmill Barn #1  

catvet

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L-39
I've been keeping a blog of my sawmill barn construction over the last several months.

http://northvermont.Blogspot.com

A bit of history. We have 57 acres about 20 miles from our home in Vermont. Last Feb I got a Timber King portable sawmill to make use of the trees on the property and to work on doing some building on the property. I've never built anything before so it should be an interesting challenge.

After moving the sawmill to the property I realized we probably wouldn't really be moving it around very much and that a building would make it much nicer for milling in lousy weather, be it winter cold, or summer sun.

I looked around and decided to go with the Socket Sytem setup since I figured I could use lumber that I milled from the property.

Settled on a 26' x 36' size. Pretty much the rest is in the blog. Used my Kubota B7800 for leveling the site and partway through convinced my wife an L39 would be a good thing to get.

You will need to go through the archives to see previous months work. The blog is arranged from most recent on back.

Any suggestions or comments appreciated. The next steps are to figure out how to close it in. I'm thinking about using large polycarbonate panels (4' x 8') for windows figuring at about $70 a piece they would be a lot cheaper than glass and are supposedly pretty much unbreakable. I'm looking for a lot of light and some wind protection. One of these panels would take up most of the space between a bent.