Estimating dirt yardage for a job

/ Estimating dirt yardage for a job #1  

dswinnerjr

Tractor
John Deere 5105
I am new to this aspect of tractor work. I have a job for a customer, where he wants to raise the level of his parking area up about 3 inches total, to be level with the rest of his yard. Right now his property slopes down a good bit and all the water runs right through his parking spot. So I figured the area to be raised to be about 30x50, maybe 40x50 at the most. Quick calculation of 12 yds covering 750 sq ft at 4inches deep. I went ahead and ordered 12 yds of select fill after talking to the dirt guy. This maybe too much but he has an area of about 10x15 that is pretty low with mud holes.

Do ya'll think with the little amount of info I provided this will be enough.

/ Estimating dirt yardage for a job #2  
I think you're quite short by my calcs. I get 22 yrds and 29 yrds. Maybe too much super bowl for me but thats what I figured.

/ Estimating dirt yardage for a job #3  
I've got an excell spreadsheet that calcs dirt fill volumes and weights and truck loads if you want it.
30x50= 1500 sq ft. If that area is filled 4" deep (.33333 ft) it means you could take a cubic foot of dirt and slice into 3 4" deep squares it would cover 3 square feet so divide the 1500 by 3 = 500 cubic ft. There are 27 cubic feet in a cubic yard. 500 cubic ft divided by 27 = 18 Q yards. A tandem axle dump has a 10 yd box so you will need 2 loads.
We pay $28 per ton for topsoil at 15 tons per truck so you may want to get a load of fill at $22 per ton and then top it so it will grow grass.

/ Estimating dirt yardage for a job
Thanks ya'll for you input, I will certainly order more as I might have miscalculated.

Shaley, yes I would like to see that spreadshhet.

Thanks again ya'll

Another question I have

When do you want to add gravel first on a drive before dirt and then top it off with rock?