weird house wiring problem

/ weird house wiring problem #1  

Mosey

Veteran Member
Tractor
2000 New Holland TC29D with 7308 FEL, and top & tilt. 1950 John Deere B. 1940 Farmall A.
I’m no expert at house wiring, but I thought I understood the basics. I’m replacing a bathroom light with a light that has an exhaust fan. There’s only one switch there now, so I needed to add a second switch to have one control the light and one control the fan. So, I started by adding another wire (I got lucky here and didn’t have too much trouble running a new wire down from the attic to the box).

Before I even hooked up the new wire or installed the new light, I removed the existing switch and replaced it with a new switch that has 2 single pole switches that I found at Lowes. It fits in a single wide switch box and the switches flip sideways instead of up and down. So, I connected the wires that went to the old switch to one of the switches on the new switch. I connected the black (hot) wire to the hot side of the switch and the white wire (which will become a hot wire when the switch is turned on) to one of the switch terminals on the other side. I didn’t connect the ground wire to anything yet. Simple right? When I turned the breaker back on, the light came on even though the switch was turned off! Flipping the switch back and forth made no difference. The light just stayed on all the time. I tried the other switch and the same thing. So, I took it off and put the old switch back on and it worked like it should.