OTR Trucks

/ OTR Trucks #1  

RobS

Tractor
None!
I know there are some truckers on here, maybe someone can answer my curiosities...

I've been a fan of trucks and trucking since I was a kid. I was a big time carpet trucker and built my share of plastic model kits of the big rigs. Back then I knew the difference between a cabover and a conventional, but didn't know the pros/cons of either.

So yesterday, I'm on a quick trip to Detroit with nothing to do but observe trucks. It didn't take me long to realize there are no more cabover trucks (except the smaller, city delivery type rigs). It wasn't long ago that JBHunt had a whole fleet of International (Navistar?) cabovers with set-back front axles. Not sure why I remember those, but they seemed kind of neat. But now, nothing. Not one single cabover amongst hundreds of semi-trucks that I saw.

I'm sure there are good reasons for this, and I can imagine a couple but why the relatively sudden demise? If cabovers are so "bad" now, what made them attractive a couple of decades ago?

Thanks in advance for enlightening me!

/ OTR Trucks #2  
I noticed this same thing a few months ago. I'm just guessing here. But I would guess 2 reasons for their demise. Driver comfort. The cabovers were pretty cramped because of a big engine hump in the middle of the truck. I also heard they didn't ride as well. Second and probably more important to the companies fuel mileage. It is easier to start breaking the air up with the hood and slope it around the cab and trailer. Take a look at the newer Kenworth sloped hoods.

Why were cabovers popular? I would guess maneurverability. A little bit shorter so they could turn sharper. I would say redesigns have helped the newer ones turn as well. I think I had heard at one point conventionals were banned in certain cities because of turning ability, but as that improved it conventionals that ban got lifted.