I see the end of the Desktop Computer

/ I see the end of the Desktop Computer #1  

Timber

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B7800
I have been saying this for some time now. I use a portable desk computer all the time. I am a Operations Manager for a Warehouse and Trucking facility. I put in a lot of hours but these days I can do a lot from home. In my office at work I use a 22 inch monitor that I plug into my Laptop and I use a Wireless keyboard at my desk on the keyboard pullout. I can either use duel monitors or most of the time I just use the 22 inch and save the ware and tear on the laptop monitor. This is the greatest convince because I just unplug the monitor, pick up my laptop & head out the door with my entire work. Most all peripherals are becoming Ethernet based, I never fax anymore & everything is scanned to email. Printers are either on a terminal server or a wireless router. I can sit in my home and print on any printer in my office or at any of our other facility's, It seems to me that there is not any advantage to a desktop, only limitations. There will always be specific tasks where a computer will never leave its location where it does a job 24 hours a day so there will always be a call for them. I think in a world where technology changes so quickly and the cost of a laptop over a desktop is so much cheaper that the desk top will just go the way of special order.

/ I see the end of the Desktop Computer #2  
I think in a world where technology changes so quickly and the cost of a laptop over a desktop is so much cheaper that the desk top will just go the way of special order.[/SIZE][/I][/QUOTE]

I think you are right about that. I live in an area with no land line phone lines, so DSL has not been an option for me. I delt with Hughesnet for about 4 years on a desktop PC. I now have, for about a year and a half, a laptop with an Aircard and I love it. A little slow at times, but still to be able to take my laptop where ever I go has really spoiled me.