In Over My Head With Electric Motors

/ In Over My Head With Electric Motors #1  

Bird

Epic Contributor
Son-in-law's Ryobi Plate Joiner quit, so he sent it to me to see if I could fix it. The obvious problem was that the red wire from the stator to the front brush got against the rotor, rubbed the insulation off and frayed the wire. Wasn't hard to cut the little bad spot out and splice the wire back, and everything else "looks" like new, but it still doesn't work. I've done the obvious for an amateur; i.e., checked continuity through the switch and wires to the brushes, but know very little about electric motors. Anyone have any guesses as to what might be wrong or what I could do to make this motor run again?

/ In Over My Head With Electric Motors #2  
Bird, I'm no expert and this is probably too obvious, but is it possible when the wire (presumably) shorted out the unit that it tripped a thermal shut-off....is there a reset button?

Only other thought is you may have a dead spot on the windings....try turning the shaft a bit and then return power.

/ In Over My Head With Electric Motors
Thanks, Wasabi, but no reset button or thermal shut-off that I know off. I've had the motor completely apart and back together (twice) and I can turn the rotor quite freely by hand, but nothing happens when I plug it in and hit the switch.

/ In Over My Head With Electric Motors #4  
you might check continuity from the end of the plug all the way thru the switch, just in case when it shorted, it burned the power cord??
heehaw

/ In Over My Head With Electric Motors #5  
Bird, You didn't say if it was series wound (most likely) or shunt wound. Anyway, I think I followed what you did. You didn't say that you checked continuity through the brushes or ... oh well.